O.SALM & Co GmbH
Apollogasse 6, Postbox P.O.B.33
A-1072 Wien, Austria

 

Tel: +43 1 523 12 36

office.vienna(at)salm-austria.com

SALM TECHNOLOGY I


SALM brewery plants are very special because of technologies, which were already applied for the first time in 1986:


SALM REMOTE MASH AND WORT HEATING SYSTEM:


The History: The classical heating of the brewkettle is either the direct firing of the bottom of the kettle or the direct steam heating of the double-walled kettle. Both technologies were designed for larger scale kettles, as the diameter was relatively wide and the available heating surface was also relatively large. The mostly limited space in restaurants required to enlarge the height of the brewkettles and the maximum standard transportation width of 2,30 meters (for containers) limited the diameter. By reducing the diameter, the bottom sided heating surface was also reduced and the initial heat supply remained the same. The result is an overheating and the mash and wort cannot transport this heat any more without burning and darkening.
Another problem is the boiler room regulation in Germany, Austria and many other European and Asian countries. This regulations stipulates from which boiler capacity the boiler has to be installed in a certified boiler room with separate air supply from outside, fire resistance (for example T60, T90 etc.), a separate air outtake, emergency shutdown switch outside the room and so on. With direct firing of the kettle and a heating capacity of for example 40 kW (would be required for a 5 hl brewhouse using decoction mash method), this system has to be installed in a certified boiler room, which is impossible with direct firing.

The solution was the design of an external heating system but not steam heating, because this requires a dual heat transfer and causes thermical losses. The SALM External Mash & Wort Heater heats mash and wort, which is continuously pumped by a special pump between kettle and boiler, directly by a atmospheric gas burner (5, 8 and 10 hl) or a fan burner. On request this can also be done by steam. The secret of this successful system is the smooth heating with a temperature difference of only 4.5°C between intake and outlet. In case of direct firing of the kettle the temperature difference would be far higher. This unique system is patented.


The Regulation
(patents) is also very special: Most systems regulate the burner according to a set point capacity whereas the BREWMATIC brewhouse computer system regulates the burner according to a calculated time/temperature ramp and this signal is transferred as a three step incremented power setting to the burner or as a fully modulating smooth signal to the blow burners of the latest generation. At the big external heaters a burner of the company Weishaupt is converted accordingly for this special regulation task. The result is the most energy saving heating system for brewhouses in the entire world. With only 1.63 m³ natural gas/hl hot wort (brewed in single decoction mashing with a mashing temperature of 52°C, 12°B, 60 minutes wort pressure boiling) the energy costs are only a minor matter. By comparison, the energy consumption of traditional heating system is often 3 to 4 times higher.
 

The authenticity

Up to a few years ago, this heating technology has been badly criticized by manly German competitors. Nowadays there is an increasing volume of publications about this "revolutionary" technology and this is been recommended as a technical solution to improve the heating system at older brewhouses.

There are also more and more competitors, who try to copy this technology, particular with steam heating, but so far, all attempts to copy the direct fired external mash- and wort heater failed, this technical master piece remains to be ultimate SALM Heating system with the world´s lowest energy consumption.

 

 

SALM TECHNOLOGY II

 

TOTAL ENERGY SAVING

 

SALM was the first manufacturer world wide who declared room cooling for beertank chilling as old and insufficient and offered 100 mm (!!)  PU foam insulated tanks as standard configuration. Electronically controlled jacket cooling has also been standard technology since 1985.

 

A SALM brewery plant with e.g. 4000 hl/year needs a connected load of 5.5 kW for the cooling compressor with the SALM Latent Energy Storage Cooling System. Similar sizes and capacities of other breweries need up to 15 kW connected load for the cooling compressor.

 

HIGH TECH INSTEAD OF TECHNOLOGICAL EXPERIMENTS

 

We are not planning to endanger the brewing profession. But it is a fact that especially small micro breweries cannot afford to hire a graduated brewmaster to make their beer. SALM breweries are therefore designed to be properly operated by trained brewers only, to produce a steady top quality of beers. This technology gives brewmasters more time for administrative works, support of beer interested customers in the restaurant and creative activities. A trained brewer has more time for delicate production areas and the owner does not have to worry about the risk of deterioration in quality.

O.SALM & Co GmbH
Apollogasse 6, Postfach P.O.B.33
A-1072 Wien, Österreich

 

Tel: +43 1 523 12 36

DIE SALM TECHNOLOGIE I

 

Die SALM Brauereianlagen zeichnen sich durch besondere Technologien aus, welche bereits 1986 weltweit erstmalig zum Einsatz kamen:


DER SALM MAISCHE- und WÜRZE AUSSENKOCHER, das ORIGINAL VOM ERFINDER:


Vorgeschichte: Die klassische Beheizung der Sudpfanne ist entweder die direkte Befeuerung des Pfannenbodens oder die direkte Dampfbeheizung einer doppelwandigen Pfanne. Beide Technologien waren für große Pfannen entwickelt worden, da durch den verhältnismäßig großen Pfannendurchmesser auch die dafür verfügbare Heizfläche relativ groß war. Die meist engen Platzverhältnisse in den Gastronomiebereichen und aus Gründen der leichteren Transportfähigkeit (Containerbreite 2.30m) mussten die Pfannen höher gebaut werden. Damit verringerte sich aber auch die proportionale Bodenheizfläche, die Wärme kann nicht mehr ausreichend übertragen werden, es kommt zu Überhitzungen der Maische und Würze.
Ein weiteres Problem bestand in der Heizraumverordnung in Deutschland, Österreich und vielen anderen europäischen und asiatischen Ländern. Diese Verordnung regelt, ab welcher Heizleistung eine Heizanlage in einem getrennten Heizraum installiert werden muss, welcher die Bestimmungen der Heizraumverordnung erfüllt, also getrennte Luftzufuhr von außen, Brandschutzbeständigkeit (T60, T90, usw), eine eigene Abluft nach außen, Fluchtschalter von außen für die Heizanlage, usw). Ist die Pfanne direkt befeuert und überschreitet z.B. die Grenze von 40 kW (das wäre für ein Dekoktionssudwerk mit 5 hl notwendig), dann müsste die Heizanlage gemäß der Heizraumverordnung in einem eigenen Heizraum installiert werden, und das geht bei der direkten Befeuerung nicht.

Die Lösung war die Schaffung einer Heizanlage extern vom Sudwerk, aber nicht durch Dampf, denn bei einer Dampfbeheizung treten durch zweimalige Wärmeübertragung große Verluste auf. Der SALM Maische- und Würzeaußenkocher erwärmt extern die Maische und Würze, welche durch eine Spezialpumpe in ständiger Zirkulation gehalten wird, direkt durch einen atmosphärischen Brenner (5, 8 u. 10 hl) oder einen Gasgebläsebrenner. Auf Wunsch ist dieser Außenkocher auch mit Dampf zu betreiben. Das Geheimnis besteht in der sanften Erwärmung, so ist die Temperaturdifferenz zwischen Ein- und Auslauf nur max. 4,5°C, bei einer direkten Befeuerung ist der Unterschied wesentlich höher. Dieses Heizsystem ist patentiert.


Die Regelung

 

(Patente) ist ebenfalls eine Besonderheit. Regeln die meisten Sudwerksteuerungen über eine Leistungs-Sollwert-Vorgabe, so wird bei der BREWMATIC die Rampe vorgegeben, die Regelung übernimmt der Computer in drei Stufen oder modulierend. Bei den großen Außenkochern wird ein Brenner der Firma Weishaupt für diese besondere Regelaufgabe entsprechend umgebaut. Das Resultat ist das energiesparendste Heizsystem für Sudwerke weltweit. Bei nur 1,63m3 Erdgas/hl Ausschlagwürze (gebraut im Einmaischverfahren bei einer Einmaischtemperatur von 52°C, 12°B, 60 min Würzedruckkochung) sind Energiekosten fast nur noch Nebensache. Im Vergleich benötigen traditionelle Heizsysteme oft mehr als das 3 bis 4-fache dieses Wertes.

 

 

Wurde diese Technologie noch bis vor wenigen Jahren vorallem von einigen deutschen Mitbewerbern kritisiert, so überschlagen sich heute die Experten in zahlreichen Publikationen über diese Technologie und empfehlen sie offen vorallem als die einzig machbare Lösung, alte Sudwerke mit einer neuen Heiztechnik auszustatten.

 

Auch finden sich mehr und mehr Trittbrettfahrer, welche diese Technik abkupfern und als deren Entwicklung zu verkaufen versuchen. Allerdings sind diese Versuche nur auf Dampf-Aussenkocher beschränkt, der direkt befeuerte Aussenkocher ist und bleibt eine nicht kopierfähige technische Meisterleistung und nur dieser hat den weltweit geringsten Energiebedarf.

 

DIE SALM TECHNOLOGIE II

 

BEKENNTNIS ZUR BEDINGUNGSLOSEN ENERGIE EINSPARUNG

 

SALM war weltweit der erste Anbieter, welcher die Raumkühlung als alleinige Kühltechnik zur Biertankkühlung als veraltet erklärt hat und als Standardausstattung 100 mm (!!) PU-Schaum isolierte Tanks angeboten hat. Elektronisch geregelte Mantelkühlung ist ebenso Standardtechnologie seit 1985.

Eine SALM Anlage mit z.B. 4000hl/Jahr benötigt mit der SALM Latentspeichertechnik eine Kühlanlage mit nur 5.5 kW Kühlkompressor (Anschlusswert), vergleichbare Anlagengrößen wurden schon mit insgesamt 15 kW Kühlkompressor Anschlusswert nur für die Raumkühlung gesehen.

 

HIGH TECH STATT TECHNOLOGIE EXPERIMENTE

 

Wir wollen den Berufsstand der Braumeister nicht gefährden. Aber es ist eine Tatsache, dass nicht jede Kleinbrauerei aus Lohnkostengründen einen Braumeister beschäftigen kann. Die SALM Anlagen sind deshalb so hochtechnisiert, dass auch durch angelernte Kräfte eine perfekte und gleichmäßige Bierqualität gewährleistet werden kann. Für Braumeister hingegen bedeutet das mehr Zeit für Administration, Betreuung bierinteressierter Gäste und Kreativtätigkeiten. Für einen angelernten Brauer bedeutet das eine merkliche Entlastung bei den heiklen Produktionsbereichen und für den Unternehmer ein geringes Risiko von Qualitätseinbrüchen.